Dragonfly

So I am out buying some trinkets and treasures from one of my favorite stores, and there, on the freshly rained  sidewalk, is this large, perfectly intact dragonfly.  I kinda felt silly, but I picked it up and brought it home with me.

I couldn’t help but be fascinated once again with God’s beautiful art. The intricate pattern of the wings.  In doing paper art I have seen dragonfly stamps, dragonfly stickers, dragonfly brads etc, etc.  But  compared to the real thing! There was no comparison.

I found myself thinking on the way home-did it just die?  How long was laying there?  Had other people seen it and walked on by?  Or maybe they were disgusted by the fact it was a big dead bug?  Hmm. I don’t know.

034035036

3 Responses to “Dragonfly”

  1. Kimmie Says:

    I’d rather come home with him than any store bought trinket out there …. wow! what a find!!!

  2. Diane Says:

    Isn’t it amazing, when we stop to look, I mean really look, at works of nature, we realise that what we buy is only a poor imitation of God’s work? I love the veining on the wings- so delicate, yet so strong to be able to move the dragonfly’s body.

  3. Phyllis in Elgin Says:

    It’s so funny, but as a kid, I was paralyzed with fear by dragonflies. My Dad would take me out in his fishing boat, and they would be swarming the sunlit lake. As an adult, I’m in awe of their beauty, wonderful photos Beanie!

Leave a Reply

