Hitchcock Halloween

For years family and friends have been nudging me to submit some of my artwork to Somerset Studios and see if they would publish me. When New Year’s resolution time rolled around I decided that this would be the year I wouldn’t just say I was going to submit some work, but actually do it!! When Somerset called for “A Hitchcock Halloween” I knew this was the project for me to do. I have my fingers crossed that Somerset will like this and publish it. But even if they don’t, I really enjoyed the process of making this piece.

I used a sewing pattern tissue paper to print Alfred on and decoupaged him onto a egg I bought at the Salvation Army  thrift store. I paid a whole dime for the egg!

I also paid a dime for the wings. They were a clearance Christmas ornament that was originally gold and I painted them black.

The nest is lined with black feathers, gauze stained with black and brown ink and beads on the edges. Of course, there is also my favorite little wooden skull tucked in there too. (I swear I am gonna cry, Deb, when I use these all up!)

A little orange and black alcohol ink…

A little warning hanging from the finger….

A little better view of the image

And last but not least the skeleton hand…

I picked up this hand at a wonderful store called Dallas & Co. They sell costumes, party supplies, magic stuff, etc. They really have an amazing variety of Halloween stuff. I was so grateful when I went to the store looking for a hand (how weird does that sound??? lol) and they graciously dug through last years Halloween stuff and found me this hand.  It was perfect and what I envisioned in my head–how often does THAT happen? 🙂

Cross your fingers for publication!

5 Responses to “Hitchcock Halloween”

  1. Deb M Says:

    Are you kidding me?! This is the front cover of the magazine! I love how your mind works, Dena. This is simply brilliant! I love how you put Alfred inside the egg. Crazy genius! I can’t wait for the mag. to come out. Oh, you’ll be in there alright, but I don’t think we’ll miss this on the Front cover!
    Carry on with your creative self.

  2. Suji Says:

    Wow. Amazing. Brilliant. Your use of thrift store finds makes it that much better. If they don’t publish this, they’re crazy!

  3. Diane Says:

    Amazing, Dena! It is simply amazing. All your attention to detail is truly appreciated. It is perfect as is. I hope the editors see what a gem they have in hand and print it on the cover, like deb said.

  4. artontheporch Says:

    Thank you so much guys! Maybe this will be the piece that reaches my goal of being published!

  5. Stephanie Says:

    If they don’t publish you, they are CRAZY.

Leave a Reply

