Take Me to the Beach

These two chunkys are beach themed. They will eventually find their home with my Meerkat friend, Jan Larson.

I hope she likes them!

This first one is has the background painted with watercolor, ink, and white paint. The entire background was  glimmer misted.

The bottom is dusted lightly with sand. The piece is tied off with raffia and fibers. These adorable  little kiddos came from a book about sisters my sister gave me years ago. (Wonder what she would think if she knew I cut it up??) I finished it off with seashells. Some are natural and some are painted with a pearly paint.

This next one is actually my favorite of the two. It is very “collagey” but still beachy. The fish is from a vintage salmon can label. The mermaid is from a collage sheet from collagestuff.com (a favorite of mine!) The pink vintage lens is from collagestuff as well. The Monopoly card is from a national parks edition. The picture frame is vellum.  A piece of grunge board inked finishes it off!

2 Responses to “Take Me to the Beach”

  1. Plain Jane Says:

    Just amazing!! Once again you rock the mermaids, girl! Wish I could get inside your head and see how you come up with this stuff!!! P.S. I won’t tell your sister you cut up the book, lol!

  2. Phyllis Rollins Says:

    I love these both, but there is something so joyful about the sisters, believe it or not, I think it’s my favorite. Great work as always. Whenever I buy a book at a thrift store or library sale, I always feel
    okay in cutting it up and giving it new life. Your secret is safe with me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

